Skip to main content

The College of Engineering


The Kumasi College of Technology (KCT) established in October 1951 was transformed into the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST) in August 1961 by an Act of Parliament. In October 1952, the School of Engineering and the Department of Commerce were established. From 1952 to 1955, the School of Engineering prepared students for professional qualifications only. In 1955, the School embarked on courses leading to the Bachelor of Engineering Examinations of the University of London. The School of Engineering which began with the 3 traditional engineering programmes of civil, electrical and mechanical has progressively grown into a College of Engineering in 2003, as one of 6 colleges of the university. It currently runs 15 different engineering programmes at the undergraduate level and several other postgraduate programmes. As part of the distance learning activities, the College of Engineering also offers some onshore and even offshore programmes in Nigeria and the United Arab Emirates